Exploring is career education for young men and women, ages 14-20. These students receive hands-on experience and find out if a particular career field is right for them. They will also get to fellowship with others sharing their same interests. Exploring can be the first step in identifying career possibilities while having fun in an exciting and informal environment. There are many upcoming Exploring opportunities in the area! 

Upcoming Open Houses

Date

Exploring Post

Time

Address

Contact

Coming Soon        

Exploring Posts

Post # Area Sponsoring Organization Meeting Day Contact Name Electronic
Communications

Arts & Humanities

Arts & Humanities ExploringArt & Humanities is a hands-on program that exposes participants to many career opportunities in art, music, drama and other humanities areas. Fill out the career interest survey to be notified about open houses and when new Exploring posts are starting near you.
99   Redemption Guard     Michael Acosta
michael.acosta@redemptionguard.org
 

Aviation Exploring

Aviation ExploringAviation Exploring combines exciting hands-on activities with interactions with aviation professionals representing a wide range of careers. Explorers will experience firsthand what it's like to be a pilot, aircraft mechanic, flight engineer and air traffic controller. Fill out the career interest survey to be notified about open houses and when new Exploring posts are starting near you.

Coming Soon Southeast Houston / Clear Lake Lone Star Flight Museum
11551 Aerospace Ave. 
Houston, TX 77034
Saturday,
once per month
James Talmage
james.talmage@lonestarflight.org
 

Engineering & Technology Exploring

Engineering ExploringEngineering & Technology Exploring is a hands-on program for youth with an interest in learning more about careers in the fields of engineering and technology. Fill out the career interest survey to be notified about open houses and when new Exploring posts are starting near you.

14    Wood Group Engineering   Simon Skivington
simon.skivington@woodplc.com
 

EMS Exploring

Fire Service ExploringEMS Exploring is a hands-on program for youth with an interest in learning more about careers in the field of fire or emergency services. Fill out the career interest survey to be notified about open houses and when new Exploring posts are starting near you.

Coming Soon Houston Harris County EMS   Michelle Phillips
michelle.phillips@scouting.org
 
Coming Soon Cypress Cypress Creek EMS   Holly Pichette
hpichette@ccems.com
 
682  Pasadena Acadian EMS   Chris Nix
christopher.nix@acadian.com
  

Law Enforcement Exploring

Law Enforcement ExploringLaw Enforcement Exploring offers youth a personal awareness of the criminal justice system through training, practical experiences, competition and other activities. Additionally, the program promotes personal growth through character development, respect for the rule of law, physical fitness, good citizenship and patriotism. Fill out the career interest survey to be notified about open houses and when new Exploring posts are starting near you.

41 Champion
Forest
Harris County Sheriff
(16030 T.C. Jester)
Tuesdays
5-8 pm
Terry Garza
terry.garza@sheriff.hctx.net
42 North
Houston
Harris County Sheriff
(5200 Aldine Mail Route)
Wednesdays
6-9 pm
Anthony Ramirez
anthony.ramirez@sheriff.hctx.net
43 Northeast Houston Harris County Sheriff
(14350 Wallisville Road)
Thursdays
6-9 pm
Terry Garza
terry.garza@sheriff.hctx.net
44 West
Houston
Harris County Sheriff
(19449 Katy Freeway)
Thursdays
6-9 pm
David Hernandez
david.hernandez2@sheriff.hctx.net
112 Cy-Fair Cypress-Fairbanks ISD Police Department   Ramon Hernandez
ramon.hernandezjr@cfisd.net
2226 Bay City Bay City Police Dept.   Antoine Linsey
alinsey@cityofbaycity.org
545 Tomball Tomball Police Dept.   Jennifer Davis
jdavis@tomballtx.gov
 
627 LaPorte La Porte Police Dept. Thursdays
6-8 pm
Frank Fullbright
fullbrightf@laportetx.gov
900 Spring Branch Spring Branch ISD Police Dept.   Cindy Garcia
cindy.garcia@springbranchisd.com
 
915 Stafford Stafford Police Dept.   Adran Tyler
atyler@staffordtx.gov
 
945 Northwest
Houston
Houston Police Dept - North
(9455 West Montgomery)
Mondays
5-7 pm
Nicole Carter
832-394-3880
973 Brazos Brazos County Sheriff   Louis Koronka
email Post 973
 
1029 El Campo El Campo Police Dept.   Ryan Schaer
email Post 1029
 
1184 Houston Houston Police Dept. - HS for LE   Anthony Davis
anthony.davis@houstonisd.org
 
1309 SW Houston Houston Police Dept. - Southwest
(13097 Nitida)
Wednesdays
6-8 pm
Darrell Elzy
504-261-5207
darrell.elzy@houstonpolice.org
1919 Goose Creek Goose Creek CISD Police   Samuel Laird
samuel.laird@gccisd.net
 
2061 Central Houston Houston Police Dept. - Central
(33 Artesian)
  Thomas Wooten
thomas.wooten@houstonpolice.org
2120 Rosenberg Rosenberg Police Dept. Tuesdays
5-7 pm
Timothy Kraus
timmy.kraus@gmail.com
  
2121 Fort Bend Fort Bend County Sheriff's Office Mondays
5:30-7:30 pm
Brandon Breaux
brandon.breaux@fortbendcountytx.gov
2202 South Central Houston Houston Police Dept. - South Central
(2202 St. Emanuel St.)
Tuesdays
5-7 pm
Tasharra Brown
tasharra.brown@houstonpolice.org
2461 Southwest Houston Houston Police Dept. - South Gessner
(8605 Westplace Dr.)
Mondays 5:30 pm Rena Stewart
rena.stewart@houstonpolice.org
832-394-4727
3203 West Houston Houston Police Dept. - Westside
(3203 South Dairy Ashford)
Tuesdays
5-8 pm
Michael Prause
michael.prause@houstonpolice.org
713-459-7470
5451 Tomball Tomball Police Dept. 1st & 3rd Wednesday
6-9 pm
Jennifer Davis
jdavis@tomballpd.com
7277 Sharpstown Houston Police Dept. - Midwest
(7277 Regency Square)
Mondays
6-8 pm
Melissa Lopez
melissa.lopez@houstonpolice.org
7525 Southeast Houston Houston Police Dept. - Eastside
(7525 Sherman)
Wednesdays
6-8 pm
Ramon Palacios
832-395-1580
ramon.palacios@houstonpolice.org
7800 South Houston Houston Police Dept - Hobby Airport
(8800 Paul B Koonce)
Tuesdays
6-9 pm
Adam Ho
832-436-5348
adam.ho@houstonpolice.org
8300 Southeast Houston Houston Police Dept. - Southeast
(8300 Mykawa)
Tuesdays
6-8 pm
Lloyd Anderson
832-394-1651
lloyd.anderson@houstonpolice.org
8301 Northeast Houston Houston Police Dept. - Northeast
(6402 Market St.)
  Jamie Byrd
713-635-0200
jamie.byrd@houstonpolice.org
9726  Aldine Houston Police Dept. - Training Academy
(17000 Aldine Westfield)
  Andrea Munoz
281-230-2300
andrea.munoz@houstonpolice.org
Coming Soon Missouri City Missouri City Police Dept.   Travis Lutze
travis.lutze@missouricitytx.gov
 
Coming Soon Montgomery & Conroe Montgomery ISD Police Dept.   Manuel Melchor
mjnmmelch@yahoo.com
 

Fire Service Exploring

Fire Service ExploringFire Exploring Exploring is a hands-on program for youth with an interest in learning more about careers in the field of fire or emergency services.  Fill out the career interest survey to be notified about open houses and when new Exploring posts are starting near you.

31 Klien Klein Volunteer Fire Dept. 1st & last Monday Mikel Fontana
281-376-4432
1914 Rosenberg Rosenberg Fire Department   Trevor Jones
tjones@rosenbergtx.gov
 
Coming soon Missouri City Missouri City Fire Services TBD Lt. Robert Jasper
robert.jasper@missouricitytx.gov
 

Health Care Exploring

Health ExploringHealth Care Exploring is a hands-on program where Explorers learn from medical professionals who work in the healthcare industry every day. Explorers will learn from healthcare leaders who will share their experiences and expertise to help support you as you learn about the healthcare field.  Fill out the career interest survey to be notified about open houses and when new Exploring posts are starting near you.

100 Houston (Spring Branch) Pima Medical Institute once a month Abdul Asghar
aasghar@pmi.edu
 
494 & 495 Katy Memorial Herman Hospital twice a month Heather Rojas
website
1210 Fort Bend Fort Bend Animal Services once a month Barbara Vass
barbara.vass@fortbendcountytx.gov
 
Coming soon Cypress Discover Chiropractic and Wellness TBD Dr. Stephanie Mahan
discoverchirohouston@gmail.com
 
Coming soon Rosenberg Rosenberg Health & Rehab TBD TBD  

Science Exploring

Science ExploringScience Exploring is a hands-on program for youth with an interest in learning more about careers in the fields of science.  Fill out the career interest survey to be notified about open houses and when new Exploring posts are starting near you.

1836  Downtown Houston Houston Forensic Science Center Saturday,
once a month
Adam Whitman
awhitman@houstonforensicscience.org
 

Skilled Trades Exploring

Skilled Trades Exploring is a hands-on program for youth with an interest in learning more about careers in the fields of skilled trades.  Fill out the career interest survey to be notified about open houses and when new Exploring posts are starting near you.

55 Southeast Houston Texas Carpentry & Millwrights Training Center Saturday,
once a month
David Barron
david.barron@tcmttf.com
 
 71  Southeast Houston Elite Pipe Welding Academy Saturday,
once a month
Leonard Bonilla
lbonilla@eliteweldingacademy.com
 
Coming soon Cypress Automotive Post TBD TBD  

Business Exploring

Business Exploring is a hands-on program for youth with an interest in the many functional areas within a business, including sales/marketing, operations, finance/accounting, customer service, human resources, and information technology, learning more about careers in the field of business.  Fill out the career interest survey to be notified about open houses and when new Exploring posts are starting near you. 

           

Law & Government Exploring 

Law & Government Exploring is a hands-on program for youth interested in a career in law enforcement or a related field in the criminal justice system.  Fill out the career interest survey to be notified about open houses and when new Exploring posts are starting near you.

Coming Soon Fort Bend County Estes Law Office      

Dental Health Care Exploring 

Dental Health Care is a hands-on program in which students will learn directly from dentists and medical health leaders that will help guide and mentor the Explorers as they learn about various dental careers, dental health awareness and education, while also discussion of topics pertaining to the dental field. Fill out the career interest survey to be notified about open houses and when new Exploring posts are starting near you.

2 Missouri City Quail Valley Dental Friday,
once a month
Dr. McAffee
qvfamilydental@yahoo.com
281-499-8340
 

Contacts

For more information about joining or starting an Exploring post, please contact,

 

Michelle Phillips
Field Director - Learning for Life / Exploring
(713) 756-3372
michelle.phillips@scouting.org

 

Join Exploring

Exploring is a great way to learn about careers and you can join one of the many Explorer posts today!  Check out this video that explains more about the Exploring program.

http://exploring.shac.org/exploring-posts